wet felting first attempt

17 Jun

This is my first attempt in wet felting. It’s meant to be a cobweb scarf, although I think I fulled it more than I was supposed too. I left holes in the scarf so I had different places to pull the other end through. That allowed me to play with different ways of wearing it. I bought the roving for this at the maryland sheep and wool festival, but I don’t remember what the color combo was called.

Wet felting is definitely a different beast compared to needle felting. With needle felting I can work on it a little here and there, put in just 5 minutes a day if I want too. When you start a wet felting project you have to commit time into doing it and you should’t rush it. I enjoyed creating this scarf and hope that that I can become as talented as some of the other wet felt textile artists out there!

4 Responses to “wet felting first attempt”

  1. Lydia & Gill June 18, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Wow, for a first try, that’s wonderful!

    We’re wet felters and have just started using needle felting, but only to aid us in holding fibres in place before wet felting our animals! With wet felting, as long as you have somewhere to keep it (wet), you can always stop and come back to it later … I just wouldn’t leave it wet and soggy for too many days! Or, you can let it dry out and wet it again later and continue to felt it.

    We ran a workshop today, wet felting slippers. It was great to see the surprise on peoples faces when the soggy fibres actually began to look like real slippers!

    Well done, your scarf is the first of many wet felting projects, I trust!

    • The Felting Shoe June 18, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words and support!

      I had the same reaction when wet felting. When everything starts coming together it’s a great feeling! And thanks for the felting tip!

      Oh making slippers would be so much fun! That is on my list, but I think I need more practice first. I love the slippers on your site! I wish I could come to one of your workshops.

      • Lydia & Gill June 20, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

        We’d love to see you! Our workshops are quite relaxed, but our felters always go home with a completed “work of art”! Lydia works full time (as a teacher) so felting is our hobby, passion and therapy, all rolled into one! We run workshops just once a month, to share our hobby, passion and therapy with others!
        Good luck with whatever project you do next!

  2. Diana December 17, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I really new to wet felting and after a few small pieces I tried to make a scarf, but it came out with holes in. I’m so disappointed is there anyway I can fix it?

Leave a Reply

